3 junio, 2023

SEX PISTOLS: THE ORIGINAL RECORDINGS, to be launched as of May 27th 2022, 46 years of punk and anarchy


Any teenager from the second half of the 70s, remembers the Sex Pistols as an agent provocateur, a band that broke with the virtuoso, symphonic rock, even though most of the world despised them they sow the seeds of what became Punk and New Wave.

They only had one album, but several generations later they are still revered as rebellion symbols, they are part of the Rock and Roll Olympus, even when their thing was to disrupt and attack music aesthetics to create the anthems of Punk: Anarchy in the U.K. and God Save the Queen.

The group´s life was cut short because Johnny Rotten committed a huge mistake when he and the others decided to fire Glenn Matlock and put a heroin addict who wouldn´t take a single note out a bass guitar called Simon John Ritchie, AKA Syd Vicious, who is reputed as a Punk icon.

But, actually, Mr. Vicious only played on a couple of songs recorded by the band, in fact he didn´t play at all in the only “official album” NEVER MIND THE BOLLOCKS HERE´S THE SEX PISTOLS, and he is the real cause of the band breaking up, he fell in love with NEW YORK DOLLS guitarist Johnny Thunders girlfriend Nancy Spunpgen.

She was a junkie and initiated Syd in the heroin underworld, they “chased the dragon” for several months until they both died in a blood spree, where she was stabbed, Vicious was there but didn´t remember a thing, he was arrested and made bail, only to die a few days later, he ruined his life and that´s OK, but his smack habit sabotaged a band that could have grown to become Rock Gods, now they are still huge but only a shadow of “what could have been . . .”

Now, for the first time in over 20 years, 20 of the Sex Pistol’s recordings from 1976 to 1978 are collected together to tell the story of one of the world’s most influential and extraordinary bands.

They made one perfect, 40-minute album for the ages in 1977’s Never Mind The Bollocks and from its artwork to the individual players, the attitude and music – every bit of it influenced the world we live in today.

The Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings covers a historic period when the band were rarely out of the news or the charts and will be available on double vinyl and CD, as well as limited edition double transparent green vinyl and collectors’ cassettes. All configurations of The Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings can be pre-ordered, HERE.

‘SEX PISTOLS: THE ORIGINAL RECORDINGS’ – 20 tracks from the world’s most controversial band. RELEASE DATE: May 27th on UMe

The Sex Pistols left the British Establishment shaking when they exploded onto the music scene, kickstarting what later became known as punk –  a term the band were never comfortable with. Young people ripped up not just their musical forebears but their social ones too and Sex Pistols were the snarling, ferocious figurehead of the revolution.

The record is frequently listed as one of the most influential albums of all time with musicians from Joy Division / New Order to Kurt Cobain, Noel Gallagher, Green Day, to YUNGBLUD all citing them as key inspiration.  And this was not just musically, punk showed that anyone could create and many took the hint across fashion, art and design and more.

Their 1977 single “God Save the Queen” was banned by the BBC and reached Number 1 on the U.K.’s NME chart, but appeared at Number 2 on the Official U.K. Singles chart, leading to accusations that the song was purposely kept off the top spot. For the only time in chart history, the track was listed as a blank, to avoid offence to the establishment.

The collection soundtracks the period and features key singles “Anarchy In The UK,” “God Save The Queen,” “Pretty Vacant” and “Holidays In The Sun,” essential tracks from Never Mind The Bollocks, further originals and covers from The Great Rock & Roll Swindle soundtrack album and some essential B- sides in “I Wanna Be Me” (the flipside of “Anarchy…”), “Satellite” (the b-side of  “Holidays In The Sun”) and “Did You No Wrong” (from “God Save The Queen”).

20 tracks from the world’s most controversial band
RELEASE DATE: May 27th on UMe
Available on double vinyl, CD and limited edition double transparent green vinyl and collectors’ cassettes


1. Pretty Vacant
2. God Save The Queen
3. Bodies
4. No Feelings
5. I Wanna Be Me
6. Anarchy In The UK
7. Submission
8. No Fun
9. (I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone
10. Holidays In The Sun
11. New York
12. Problems
13. Lonely Boy
14. Silly Thing
15. Something Else
16. C’Mon Everybody
17. Satellite
18. Did You No Wrong
19. Substitute
20. My Way

2LP (Black vinyl)
2LP (Transparent Green)
Cassette – 5 with individual artwork

SOURCE Universal Music Enterprises

Deja un comentario

A %d blogueros les gusta esto:
Verificado por MonsterInsights